Members

Current TAP Members

Faculty Affiliate Members

Alyson Ford (Astronomy)

Galaxy Structure and Dynamics, stellar populations, Space Debris, Asteroids, Image Processing, Signal Processing, Radar, Instrumentation

alysonford@email.arizona.edu

Andrew Youdin (Astronomy)

Planet formation, accretion disks, planetary atmospheres, exoplanet statistics, dynamics

youdin@email.arizona.edu

Buell T. Jannuzi (Astronomy)

Observational Cosmology, Quasar Absorption Line Systems, Active Galaxies, Instrumentation for Surveys

buelljannuzi@email.arizona.edu

Chi-Kwan Chan (Astronomy)

Computational Astrophysics and High Energy Astrophysics

chanc@email.arizona.edu

Dimitrios Psaltis (Astronomy)

High-energy astrophysics, physics of compact objects (neutron stars and black holes), probes and tests of general relativity in astrophysical systems

dpsaltis@email.arizona.edu

Eduardo Rozo (Physics)

Astrophysics and Cosmology

erozo@email.arizona.edu

Elisabeth Krause (Astronomy)

Theoretical and observational cosmology. Using observations of the large-scale galaxy distribution to constrain the composition and initial conditions of the Universe.

krausee@email.arizona.edu

Erik Asphaug (Planetary Sciences)

Planet formation; Co-I on Psyche mission, low-gravity bodies.

asphaug@lpl.arizona.edu

Federico Fraschetti (Planetary Sciences)

High energy astrophysics, cosmology, cosmic rays

ffrasche@lpl.arizona.edu

Feryal Ozel (Astronomy)

Physics of compact objects, magnetars, neutron star interiors, black holes, and accretion disks, gravitational lensing by compact objects.

fozel@email.arizona.edu

Gurtina Besla (Astronomy)

Theoretical Astrophysics, Galaxy Formation, Dwarf Galaxies, Local Group Dynamics, Dark Matter and Structure Formation

gbesla@email.arizona.edu

Ina Sarcevic (Physics)

Ultrahigh energy neutrino interactions of relevance to the detection of Active Galactic Nuclei and of Dark Matter Candidates and studying the dynamics of particle production in Active Galactic Nuclei.

ina@physics.arizona.edu

Isamu Matsuyama (Planetary Science)

Planet formation

isa@lpl.arizona.edu

Ivan Hubeny (Steward Observatory)

Radiation transport, stellar atmospheres, planetary atmospheres, accretion disks

hubeny@email.arizona.edu

Joe Giacalone (Planetary Sciences)

Cosmic-ray transport, computational space-plasma physics, solar and heliospheric physics

giacalon@email.arizona.edu

Johann Rafelski (Physics)

Study of properties of the Universe and its evolution beginning with deconfined quark-gluon plasma, followed by hadronization transition, and continuing in the era of matter-antimatter annihilation prior to neutrino decoupling.

rafelski@physics.arizona.edu

John Cocke (Astronomy, emeritus)

Theoretical Astrophysics, Probability and Statistics, General Relativity and Cosmology, and Probability Theory

cocke@email.arizona.edu

Jozsef Kota (Planetary Sciences)

Cosmic rays, solar wind, heliospheric magnetic fields

kota@lpl.arizona.edu

Kathryn Volk (Lunar and Planetary Lab)

Kuiper belt objects, planetary dynamics, exoplanets

kvolk@lpl.arizona.edu

Kristopher Klein (Lunar and Planetary Lab)

Transport and dissipation of magnetized turbulence. Occurrence and effects of instabilities driven by departure from non-local thermodynamic equilibrium.

kgklein@lpl.arizona.edu

Kaitlin Kratter (Astronomy)

Star and Planet Formation, Theoretical and Computational Astrophysics, Binary Stars, Accretion Disks, Stellar and Planetary Dynamics

kkratter@email.arizona.edu

Lon Hood (Planetary Sciences)

Gas-grain interactions in the solar nebula, stratospheric physics, lunar and Mars geophysics

lon@lpl.arizona.edu

Peter Behroozi (Astronomy)

Theoretical Astrophysics, Galaxy Formation, Quasars, Cosmology

pbehroozi@gmail.com

Peter Strittmatter (Astronomy)

Quasars, stellar evolution and structure, image reconstruction

pstrittm@email.arizona.edu

Randy Jokipii (Regents Professor, Planetary Sciences/Astronomy)

Cosmic-ray and high-energy astrophysics, solar-terrestrial physics, winds, plasmas, scintillation

jokipii@lpl.arizona.edu

Renu Malhotra (Planetary Sciences)

Planetary dynamics, solar system and extrasolar planetary systems origin and evolution, Kuiper Belt observations and theory, circumstellar debris disks.

renu@lpl.arizona.edu

Richard Greenberg (Planetary Sciences)

Celestial mechanics and planetary dynamics, orbital resonances, orbiting populations and impact processes, formation and evolution of the solar system

greenberg@lpl.arizona.edu

Rodger I. Thompson (Astronomy)

Extragalactic Astronomy and Cosmology, Galactic Astronomy and Star Formation, Infrared Astronomy, Instrumentation

rit@email.arizona.edu

Shufang Su (Physics)

Theoretical elementary particle physics focusing on new physics beyond Standard Model. Phenomenology of new physics models, collider searches, Higgs physics, electroweak precision studies, dark matter and particle cosmology

shufang@physics.arizona.edu

Sumit Mazumdar (Physics)

Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics and Condensed Matter Physics. Theory of quasi-one and two-dimensional strongly correlated-electron systems, from semiconductors to superconductors, from their low temperature behavior to photo and device physics.

sumit@physics.arizona.edu

Timothy Swindle (Planetary Sciences)

Cosmochemistry; measurements of the noble gases in extraterrestrial materials (lunar samples and meteorites) to study the evolution of the solar system.

tswindle@lpl.arizona.edu

Tim Eifler (Astronomy)

Modeling the evolution of structures in our Universe and their multiple observables, in particular weak lensing, galaxy clustering, magnification, temperature and polarization of the Cosmic Microwave Background.

timeifler@email.arizona.edu

Tod Lauer (NOAO)

Cosmology, Black Holes in Galaxies, Structure of Galaxies, Large Scale Structure, Stellar Populations, Image Processing

lauer@noao.edu

Tommi Koskinen (Planetary Sciences)

Planetary atmospheres, both in the solar system and on exoplanets.

tommi@lpl.arizona.edu

Travis Barman (Planetary Sciences)

Atmospheric modeling of exo-planets, brown dwarfs and low mass stars

barman@lpl.arizona.edu

William Hubbard (Planetary Sciences)

Brown dwarfs, high-pressure equations of state, stellar occultations, scintillation in planetary atmospheres

hubbard@lpl.arizona.edu

Xiaohui Fan (Astronomy)

Cosmology, Quasars, Intergalactic Medium, Brown Dwarfs.

fan@as.arizona.edu

 

Faculty Members
Dave Arnett (Regents Professor, Astronomy)

Nuclear relativistic and computational astrophysics, stellar and galactic evolution

darnett@as.arizona.edu

Fulvio Melia (Professor, Physics/Astronomy/The Applied Math Program)

High-energy astrophysics, theoretical cosmology, general relativity, galactic center

fmelia@email.arizona.edu

Philip Pinto (Astronomy)

Radiative transfer, supernova spectra

pinto@email.arizona.edu

Samuel Gralla (Physics)

Black holes, pulsars, gravitational waves, general relativity

sgralla@email.arizona.edu

Vasileios Paschalidis (Astronomy)

Gravitational physics, numerical relativity, gravitational waves, (binary) compact objects, accretion onto (binary) black holes, bouncing cosmologies.

vpaschal@email.arizona.edu

Membership

TAP welcomes all those interested in the scientific study of theoretical astrophysics to become new members. Current members represent the interdisciplinary nature of the TAP and include faculty, postdocs, and graduate students from all TAP interdisciplinary departments.

Involvement in Program activities prior to a formal application for membership is not required, but is strongly encouraged. Potential applicants are also encouraged to discuss their application with Steering Committee members.

Our continuing aim is to increase the visibility of the UA’s strength in the area of theoretical astrophysics – we hope you will join us.

To become a member, please complete the short application. New member applications are reviewed quarterly by the Steering Committee. You will receive confirmation once you have been approved for membership. Please send any questions to Rosie Johnson, TAP Project Manager.